2. Scott Park and the Policies

2. Scott Park and the Policies

Town Trail

Gala Policies By Cat McLaughlin

The Policies feature a number of paths to explore and even incorporate a section of the Southern Upland Way. Look out for the enormous Wellingtonia trees (Sequoiadendron Gigantium) near the entrance, and a grove of 200-year-old oaks in the southwest corner. They were home to New Gala House, the former home of the Lairds of Gala, which was designed by David Bryce. The house was demolished in 1985, leaving behind the “policies,” a name given to the enclosed grounds of a large house.

The Gala Policies now encompass the sites of Galashiels Academy, St. Margaret’s School, the Focus Community Centre, Swimming Pool and Scott Park. The lodge at the entrance to Scott Park was built in 1885, the park being named after the Scott family who gifted it to the town in 1939.

Stop 2 of 20

Key Information

Building open to the public:


What 3 Words Locator text

This location is NOT suitable for anyone with mobility issues.
Gala Policies Sign

Next Location

Old Parish and St Paul's Church, Galashiels

Galashiels Church of Scotland, formerly Old Parish and St Paul’s Church

This impressive church building, formerly known as Old Parish and...